Home » About » Our Diocese

Diocese of Greensburg

St. John the Baptist is a parish of the Diocese of Greensburg​.  

Diocesan Mission Statement

The Roman Catholic Diocese of Greensburg calls together the faithful in four southwestern Pennsylvania counties – Armstrong, Fayette, Indiana and Westmoreland​​ – under the leadership of the diocesan bishop, a successor of the Apostles, and in communion with the Holy Father, the bishop of Rome. The Catholics of this diocese, priests, deacons, religious and laity, work together to live out their baptismal call to proclaim, in word and action, the Gospel of Jesus, handed down to us through Scripture, tradition and the magisterium of the church. Our diocesan mission is continually realized by proclaiming God’s word; celebrating the sacraments, especially the Eucharist; forming communities of faith; and building a just and compassionate society in this world so that we may be fulfilled human beings on this earth, and so that we may all share God’s salvation in his kingdom.

Bishop Larry J. Kulick, JCL

At a Glance

Canonically Erected: March 10,1951, by Pope Pius XII
Diocesan Patroness: Our Lad​y of the Assumption
Square Miles: 3,334
Counties: Armstrong, Fayette, Indiana, and Westmoreland
Regions: 10
Deaneries: 5
Total Population: 641,041​
Catholic Population: 128,290
Diocesan Cathedral: Blessed Sacrament, Cathedral
Parishes: 78
Parishes in Partner Configurations: 38
Diocesan Priests: 80
Active Diocesan Priests: 43
Retired Diocesan Priests: 37
International Priests: 17 

Benedictine Priests in Parish Assignments: 6

Capuchin Franciscan Priests in Parish Assignments: 5

Permanent Deacons: 14; 12 Diocesan Deacons, 2 Non-Diocesan Deacons

Current Bishop: Larry J. Kulick, 6th Bishop of Diocese of Greensburg

Past bishops: Bishop Hugh L. Lamb (1952-50), Bishop William G. Connare (1960-87), Bishop Norbert F. Gaughan (auxiliary bishop 1975-84), Bishop Anthony G. Bosco (1987-2004), Bishop Lawrence E. Brandt​ (2004-15), Bishop Edward C. Malesic (2015-2020)

Learn More